Scorecard | Preview

Ankit Rajpoot replaces the ever present Yusuf Pathan in Kolkata Knight Riders. © BCCI

Ankit Rajpoot replaces the ever present Yusuf Pathan for Kolkata Knight Riders. © BCCI

Toss: Rohit Sharma, the Mumbai Indians captain, won the toss and elected to field against Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL 2017 Qualifier 2 at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on Friday (May 19).

Team news
Mumbai: IN: Mitchell Johnson; OUT: Mitchell McClenaghan

Kolkata: IN: Ankit Rajpoot, Trent Boult; OUT: Yusuf Pathan, Colin de Grandhomme

What they said

Gautam Gambhir: It has looked little drier. We also wanted to chase. But cant’ do much about toss. Will try to defend and then chase. The bowlers set the game for us in the Eliminator, and batters complemented. Hopefully we can do the vice-versa today.

Rohit Sharma: We are going to field first. By the looks of it, looks a good wicket but will play on a slower side. That has been the case throughout the season in Bangalore. The weather condition, we thought we should chase. Its like a semifinal. We have to put everything we have as a team. Last game was an eye-opener in terms of the way we batted. We regrouped. We will hopefully put the right foot forward today. Mitchell McClenaghan is unfortunately injured.

Tournament: The winner of this match will play Rising Pune Supergiant, who beat Mumbai in Qualifier 1 on Tuesday night, in the final, while the losing team from this contest will finish in the third position overall. Mumbai beat Kolkata twice in the league stages.

Conditions: Persistent rain in Bangalore over the past few days has been a constant feature. The Eliminator between Kolkata and Sunrisers Hyderabad went late into the night as rain forced play to stop for more than three hours after the first innings. It has not rained since afternoon, but Bangalore weather is not predictable during this time of the year.

The track here, with a few cracks and some grass on it, has not helped the batsmen as much this year as it usually does, but the short boundaries will probably allow both teams to still rack up good runs in this all-important clash.


Kolkata Knight Riders: Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Gautam Gambhir (capt), Robin Uthappa (wk), Colin de Grandhomme, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishank Jaggi, Piyush Chawla, Umesh Yadav, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Ankit Rajpoot.

Mumbai Indians: Parthiv Patel (wk), Lendl Simmons, Rohit Sharma (capt), Ambati Rayudu, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Karn Sharma, Mitchell Johnson, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah.