India will be looking to register their third successive victory when they confront Ireland in their ICC Women’s World Cup Group ‘A’ Qualifier at the P. Sara Stadium on Friday (10).

India having already defeated Sri Lanka and Thailand in their previous two outings will start favourites to win the match and also hope to secure their place in the Super Six stage.

India of course haven’t played against the Ireland for a long time and will not take their opponents lightly as they are capable of creating an upset.

India will be hoping that their batters will once again strike form after having piled up over 200 runs in the opening match against Sri Lanka.

India hammered a formidable 259 for four and defeated Sri Lanka by 114 runs in their opening match and also defeated Thailand by nine wickets for two straight wins in Group ‘A’.

Meanwhile, South Africa leads Group ‘B’ with two wins but are not scheduled to play on Friday as well as the host team Sri Lanka who will make their next appearance on Saturday (11)

Sri Lanka, Ireland (both from Group ‘A’), Pakistan and Bangladesh (both from Group ‘B’) have all scored one win each so far in the 10-team tournament.

Four teams will qualify for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 and the ICC Women’s Championship.

In addition, all teams reaching the Super Six stage will be assured of ODI status for the next four-year cycle.

Pakistan and Bangladesh will also be hoping to strengthen their chances of qualifying when they take on Papua New Guinea and Scotland respectively on Friday.

Friday’s matches:
(Group ‘A’):
India vs Ireland at P. Sara Stadium
Thailand vs Zimbabwe at MCA Grounds
(Group ‘B’):
Pakistan vs Papua New Guinea at NCC Grounds
Bangladesh vs Scotland at CCC Grounds